Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Help with using HLDJ

Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Woofski » Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:19 pm

Hi, I've only just got HLDJ, and it looks epic, but I've not been able to get it working.
I've been trying to get it to work with the latest Garrysmod, and out of the game everything appears fine, but ingame not much happens.
I have placed suitably converted music in the right folder, but it does not show when I type 'la' in the console. This is what I do get:
] la
Directory: D:\Program Files\HLDJ\Audio
Current: (none) Next: (none)
1. .\ 2. ..\

I am sure that the tracks I have selected are suitable and are in the right place, so I have no idea what the problem there is.
The help command instructions do show though.

Also, is the menu that is shown in one of the screenshots meant to appear when the game is started? Because it doesn't, and I don't know how to make it appear.

Thanks in advance for your help
Woofski
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Renegade » Wed Mar 11, 2009 11:45 pm

Hello.
Make sure your audio files exist here: D:\Program Files\HLDJ\Audio
and have the ".wav" extension (".wave" or any other will not work in most cases).
Check out the sticky for a sample wav you can use for testing.
Also, to check that HLDJ is responsive, try changing directories (i.e. enter "2" to navigate up a level)

Are you referring to the command menu (check Tips & Tricks)? This is a custom VGUI script you can create in HL1 (GoldSrc) games; the one you see in the screenshots is one I've designed for use with HLDJ. Unfortunately the VGUI system no longer exists in Source, so it cannot be used there.
Renegade
HLDJ Developer
HLDJ Developer
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:02 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Woofski » Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:08 pm

The music appears to be exactly as reccomended, (.wav, 16 bit, etc), and it definately is in the right location.
As for the menu, if that doesn't work in steam games anyway, then it doesn't matter for me.
HLDJ also appears to be responsive.
The sample shows up in the console and plays perfectly.
If my tracks were wrong, would they not appear?

Thanks again for the help.
Woofski
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Renegade » Fri Mar 13, 2009 10:51 pm

They would appear, even if formatted incorrectly. If the sample shows up okay, then it's likely a file-naming issue. Check the file names for any odd characters. If you find the offending one(s), let me know, I'd be interested to know.
Renegade
HLDJ Developer
HLDJ Developer
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:02 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Woofski » Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:21 pm

The names all have regular characters, but some include spaces, commas or apostrophes. This shouldn't cause a problem should it?
Same with .WAV rather than .wav, that isn't a problem either is it?

Edit:I'll try renaming them without the above, and change the .WAVs to .wav.
Woofski
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Renegade » Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:34 pm

Most standard characters are fine, though without checking the code, I'm going to hedge my bets on the .WAV extension be the problem. If so, I should be able to fix that relatively quickly.
Renegade
HLDJ Developer
HLDJ Developer
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:02 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Woofski » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:07 am

Changing .WAV to .wav seems to have fixed it, I didn't think that the case of the letters mattered.
Ah well, problem solved, thanks for the help. :D
Woofski
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Menu not showing up, music not showing in console.

Postby Renegade » Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:43 pm

Yes, thanks for bringing this to my attention. It is fixed for next version.

(which you can find a pre-release beta for here: http://hldj.org/hldj_1.4.11.exe)
Renegade
HLDJ Developer
HLDJ Developer
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:02 pm


Return to Help



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron